Competitors Confirmed for Premier League Darts

Premier League Darts Competitors Announced

Wright & Chisnall To Make Premier League Darts Debuts As 2014 Line-up Announced

Premier League Darts

Peter Wright and Dave Chisnall will make their debuts in Premier League Darts in 2014 after being confirmed amongst the ten-player field:

  • Phil Taylor
  • Michael van Gerwen
  • Adrian Lewis
  • Simon Whitlock
  • Raymond van Barneveld
  • Robert Thornton
  • Wes Newton
  • Gary Anderson
  • Peter Wright
  • Dave Chisnall

Buy Premier League Darts tickets

Scottish-born Wright has been rewarded for his success in reaching the Ladbrokes World Darts Championship final with his first appearance in darts’ roadshow tournament.

Chisnall is rewarded for his rise into the world’s top five, which has included a run to the World Grand Prix final, a European Tour win and two Players Championship victories, with his debut in Premier League Darts.

Michael van Gerwen, who won the Premier League Darts title in his debut season in 2013, will defend his title this season alongside six-time champion Phil Taylor and 2011 winner Gary Anderson, who is one of the Sky Sports Wildcards in the event.

Former Premier League Darts finalists Adrian Lewis and Simon Whitlock are joined by Raymond van Barneveld, a six-time semi-finalist in the tournament, while Robert Thornton and Wes Newton retain their places after making their Premier League Darts debuts in 2013.

“This is a fantastic line-up for the 2014 Premier League Darts and I congratulate Peter Wright and Dave Chisnall on their selection, which is fully deserved after their brilliant years,”

said PDC Chairman Barry Hearn.

“The Premier League Darts has always guaranteed excitement, shocks and world-class darts, and this line-up of ten players is sure to provide that by the bucket-load!”

“We’ll be welcoming record crowds for the Premier League Darts and also visiting the SSE Hydro in Glasgow and Leeds’ First Direct Arena for the first time in what promises to be a memorable four months.”

Hearn added:

“There is always going to be debate and discussion over which players are included but the Wildcards chosen both by ourselves and Sky Sports provide a great mix of quality, experience and personalities.

“Many more players came into consideration due to the incredibly high standard now on the PDC circuit, particularly Andy Hamilton and Kim Huybrechts, as well as James Wade.”

“James has enjoyed six great years in Premier League Darts and was a worthy champion in 2009, however this year we believe that he would benefit from a break from the pressures and travel of competing in the tournament to continue his treatment for his well-documented health issues.”

The 16-week Premier League Darts campaign initially sees the ten players play each other once over the opening night weeks, before the bottom two players are relegated after Judgement Night on week nine.

The remaining eight players will then meet once more over the next six weeks before the top four players progress to the Play-Offs at The O2 in London on Thursday May 22nd.

2014 Premier League Darts – Dates & Venue

Night One February 6 Echo Arena, Liverpool

Night Two February 13 BIC, Bournemouth

Night Three February 20 Odyssey Arena, Belfast

Night Four February 27 SSE Hydro, Glasgow

Night Five March 6 Westpoint Arena, Exeter

Night Six March 13 Capital FM Arena, Nottingham

Night Seven March 20 First Direct Arena, Leeds

Night Eight March 27 The O2, Dublin

Night Nine April 3 Motorpoint Arena, Cardiff

Night Ten April 10 Motorpoint Arena, Sheffield

Night 11 April 17 GE Oil & Gas Arena, Aberdeen

Night 12 April 24 Phones 4u Arena, Manchester

Night 13 May 1 NIA, Birmingham

Night 14 May 8 Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle

Night 15 May 15 The Brighton Centre

Play-Offs May 22 The O2, London

Premier League Darts tickets are available now on Eventim.

About Eventim UK

Eventim UK is a London based ticketing company and part of CTS EVENTIM AG, Europe's largest ticketing provider. As members of STAR (Society of Ticket Agents and Retailers) we comply with a code of practice designed to protect customers.

Thirsty for a show? Get Tickets